Kelvin Natural Slush Co. – unnaturally sweet

Rather than take the subway to meet Derek, I chose to walk from Herald Sq. to Union Sq., passing by the tempting food offerings of Madison Square Eats. I already had plans for food, but could still grab a drink from Kelvin Natural Slush‘s truck, which I’ve been trying to locate since the summer. Despite the October chill, your brave (and curious) reviewer decided to try one. The “Arnold Palmer” looked promising so I asked the incredibly bored server for a medium ($4.00).

The drink was—in the spirit of golf legend Arnold Palmer’s favorite drink—a half-and-half mix of (green/black) tea and citrus, with an added layer of strawberry. I tried engaging with the server in a conversation about the name, but she just mumbled a few words without looking at me, probably begging me to leave her alone. Her bitter attitude was unusual for a food truck vendor, but I brushed it off.

The slushie was on the opposite extreme, being excessively sweet. As I alternated hands to prevent a frostbite, I tasted a dense mix of cold, liquified sugar. The strawberry in particular was thick and syrupy, leaving a sticky aftertaste at each sip. I know slushies are sugary drinks, but this one in particular was too cloying for my tastes. It was even more disappointing from a company that brands itself as a “natural” slushie maker. Throughout the drink, I had chunks of solid slushie to bite through. It was an unpleasant experience, and certainly wasn’t worth the ten brainfreezes I got on the way to meet Derek.

Kelvin Natural Slush Co.  (site) ★★☆☆☆
Food truck (twitter)

2 responses to “Kelvin Natural Slush Co. – unnaturally sweet

Leave a Reply

