Xi’an Famous Foods – lamb and pork burgers

X’ian didn’t make much of a first impression on me when I first tried their famous Spicy Cumin Lamb Noodles, but I heard their Spicy Cumin Lamb Burger and Stewed Pork Burger were worth trying. At $3.00 and $2.50, it was a no-brainer to get both. Wanting to give the noodles a second try, I asked my friend to order it ($7.00).

After taking a bite out of the pork burger, I knew I wouldn’t be liking it. Although it was juicy, there wasn’t much flavor in it. Next to their lamb burger, it tasted bland. I made the decision to eat the lamb first, unable to resist the overwhelmingly delicious blend of spices cooked into the tender lamb meat. The pita was toasty and small, but filled with a generous helping of meat and peppers.

My friend’s noodles were a mess to eat for takeout, but it included a lot more meat than the last time I ordered. The noodles were easier to eat as well.

I’m impressed that X’ian continues to price itself well even though it’s become a tourist hotspot.

X’ian Famous Foods ★★★★★
88 E Broadway (between Forsyth St & Pike St) map
New York, NY 10002
Neighborhood: Chinatown

Leave a Reply

