Santouka Ramen – authentic out in Jersey

I expected to pay much more for ramen as authentic as Santouka. I then remembered that I was in New Jersey, so decided to get the combo deal. The Spicy Miso Ramen with pork over rice (~$12) took a while to arrive, but it was worth the wait.

It wasn’t spicy at all, which was a bummer. The flavor was a mix of saltiness with a subtle sweet taste. The ingredients were fresh and the entire bowl had a delicious aroma. The pork was soft and melted easily in my mouth. The noodles were tougher than I would have liked, but I’m biased towards the bouncy type. The cubes of pork over rice tasted okay, but I wasn’t a big fan of the rice though.

Overall, it was pretty good. 3.5 stars, but I’ll round up because it’s located in a convenient (and cool) supermarket and priced well. By the way, buy some aloe juice nearby to go with your meal. So delicious.

Santouka Ramen ★★★★☆
Mitsuwa Market Place 595 River Rd
Edgewater, NJ 07020

Leave a Reply

