Ray’s Pizza – the real original

I was hesitant to try Ray’s, mainly because I assumed it was another pizzeria coasting off the fame associated with the brand. This Ray’s was different, and what immediately tipped me off was the fact that they weren’t advertising themselves as being the “REAL, Original Ray’s SINCE 1900!”

I walk in and order a plain slice, skip the peppers, fold it in half and take a bite. Before I do, I notice the crust is quite sturdy, not droopy and weak. It’s almost like folding cardboard, and I don’t mean that in a bad way. At the first bite I realize the crust is crispy, almost toasted. The cheese was thick, but it actually worked given the heavy crust and it wasn’t bad cheese either. The sauce was just right and I thoroughly enjoyed eating the crust. This was a solid slice for a little less than $3. Well done Ray’s Pizza.

Ray’s Pizza ★★★★★
27 Prince St (between Elizabeth St & Mott St) map
New York, NY 10012
Neighborhood: Little Italy

One response to “Ray’s Pizza – the real original

Leave a Reply

