Phyllo snacks at Djerdan Burek

I took a gamble on Djerdan Burek. It had only two reviews and I didn’t know a single thing on the menu, let alone what a burek was. I was fortunate enough to have the young couple who owns Djerdan walk me through what they were offering. No surprise, they suggested two small bureks ($2 each), and I was lucky enough to arrive just as a fresh batch made its way out the oven.

My gamble paid off. I got a spinach and a meat burek. Both were two pieces of golden-crusted pastry sandwiching a delicious and savory filling. The phyllo had a crispy exterior and a soft, moist inside that enveloped the meat and spinach. If there was any issue I had with the food it may have been there being too much cheese in the spinach burek, but that may be a personal preference.

The wafting aroma of freshly baked phyllo dough and the friendliness of Zaid and Jessie makes you feel like you’re sitting in their kitchen. I can’t wait to come back and try their very extensive dessert menu. Their baby is adorable by the way.

Djerdan Burek ★★★★★
91 Clinton St (between Rivington St & Delancey St)
Manhattan, NY 10002
Neighborhood: Lower East Side

Leave a Reply

