Nolita Mart’s Espresso Bar – milky latte

I came to Nolita Mart and asked for a latte ($3.75) and wandered the back of the shop, seeing what exactly the hype was all about. The trouble with reviewing a place like this is that it’s unclear if the high marks are for the mart or the quality of the espresso. I’ll guess it’s for the mart, because the drink was a flop.

In short, the latte tasted like lukewarm milk. She did a neat job with the art, but I wouldn’t have guessed it was a latte had I been drinking with my eyes closed. I started a conversation with the barista, and eventually asked if she was new to the job. She wasn’t.She also told me that the shop was less than a year old. It had some cool, overpriced groceries and coffee-making gear, but I had a feeling they weren’t doing so well by being in the wrong neighborhood. I rounded up my review to three stars, mainly because it’s a cool atmosphere (minus the lack of air conditioning). They use Stumptown coffee, so I expected better. It could just be the barista, but I won’t go out of my way to find out.

Nolita Mart & Espresso Bar ★★★☆☆
156 Mott St (between Grand St & Broome St) map
New York, NY 10013
Neighborhood: Little Italy

Leave a Reply

