La Maison du Macaron – mid-tier macarons

I came to La Maison du Macaron for an afternoon cup of tea and settled on  Raspberry and Apricot Champagne macarons ($2.50 ea). The tea was the Colonille French Vanilla ($2.25; small). Apparently there’s a “sitting tax” for customers who want to sit in. The seating area was a crowded mess. There was a spot available next to two used trays.I started with the Raspberry, and from a first touch I knew it would be bad. It tasted like a crunchy cookie, an embarrassing sign of staleness. The filling hardly tasted like raspberry. It was overly sweetened and gummy, getting stuck between my teeth.

The Apricot Champagne was much better. The exterior was slightly crispy, and the cookie was softer. The filling is what intrigued me the most. The buttery and moist filling was very light. If you focus, you’ll taste a faint apricot taste in the champagne, which I enjoyed doing.

I’d have rated them lower if it wasn’t for that amazing tea. I should have asked for the brand. I’ll be back, only because I have a feeling I caught them on a bad time. Those used trays were never picked up by the way.

La Maison du Macaron ★★★☆☆
132 W 23rd St (between 6th & 7th Ave) map
New York, NY 10011
Neighborhood: Chelsea

Leave a Reply

