Cafe Pedlar – closed, but still serving

It was with great sadness that I walked into Frankie’s 17. No, I’m not in the wrong review page. Cafe Pedlar in the Lower East Side is no longer there. The coffee is sold through Frankie’s 17, just like it was before the cafe opened up next door. This means no more pastries, and no more seating for those of us looking for just a caffeine fix. I came all this way (5 blocks), and wasn’t going to leave without seeing how they brewed their Stumptown, so I asked for a Macchiato.

I was handed a ludicrously tiny cup, which I believed was empty at first. I handed over $4 and change and wondered if this was a joke. I sat on a bench trying to guess how good it must be to justify the price. A sip was all I needed, instantly knowing why Duane Sorenson pays so much for his beans. The macchiato had a powerful taste, without the bitterness that suggests a burnt brew. Instead, it was smooth and even to the last drop (which didn’t take long to get to). Despite the price premium, I’m giving it 5 stars. This coffee belongs in a class of its own. Experience it yourself, but try the original Brooklyn cafe instead.

Cafe Pedlar (CLOSED) ★★★★★
17 Clinton St (between Avenue B & Houston St) map
New York, NY 10002
Neighborhood: Lower East Side

Leave a Reply

