Boubouki – Greek treats by Rona

Spinach Pie isn’t what usually gets me excited, but it got me out of the house on a Saturday afternoon. I hurried over to Boubouki, a small stand in the Essex Street Market, before it closed at 6pm.

I made it in time to grab the last spanakopita ($4) Rona had. Although it wasn’t warm anymore, I bought it anyway because she said she personally prefers it at room temperature. Despite having been made hours ago, the feta and spinach filling tasted fresh. The phyllo pastry surrounding it was lightly crispy and somewhat buttery. The one issue I had was that it was priced a lot higher than I would have expected for something so light.

Still hungry, and tempted by the Almond Cookie ($2), I went back for one and talked to Rona a bit. The cookie was absolutely phenomenal: soft, crumbly, and perfectly sweetened. Everyone (including Rona) says the spinach pie is the star of the show, but please do not pass up on this sweet treat. It’s a perfect complement to the coffee you just got at Porto Rico Importing (nearby). I’ll definitely be back for a warm slice of spanakopita!

Boubouki ★★★★★
120 Essex St (between Delancey St & Rivington St)
Manhattan, NY 10002
Neighborhood: Lower East Side

Leave a Reply

