Super Taste’s Noodles ‘n’ Dumplings

RealCheapEats originally brought me here for the Mt. Qi Noodles (w/ beef; $6.75), the more exciting version of their Spicy Beef Noodles. Super Taste is run by a small Asian woman who yells at everyone. She may not be large, but she sure is in charge. It was an amusing sight to see her scream the order into the kitchen.

Before I could settle in, the food was brought in plastic bowls. The broth had green peas and carrot cubes in it, giving the entire meal a vibrant look. I took a sip of the spicy broth and it was spot-on perfect. The noodles were of medium thickness and were slightly chewy. What really blew me away was the amount of noodles given. I did have a problem with the very little beef in the bowl. It was unusually tough and tasted dry. They really could have a top-notch bowl of noodles if the beef was properly tenderized.

I came back another day for their steamed dumplings that everyone seems to be a fan of. I wasn’t very hungry, but the minimum was an order of 10 dumplings for $3. Steamed dumplings tend to be pricier than their fried counterparts, and probably are less unhealthy for you. Both of these reasons make it difficult for me to enjoy them.

However, Super Taste is an exception. I realized how hungry I was when I took a bite into one of the dumplings. Too often, they arrive watery and bland. These were much more flavorful, and even more so with the sweet vinegar/soy dipping sauce that came with it.

They also retained a slick coating that felt silky in my mouth. I thoroughly enjoyed each one and didn’t even think about dousing it in Sriacha.

I ended up sitting with two Asian women. Seating is limited, so if you show up alone, you may not be eating alone.

Super Taste ★★★★☆
26 Eldridge St (between Canal St & Division St)
New York, NY 10002
Neighborhoods: Chinatown, Lower East Side

2 responses to “Super Taste’s Noodles ‘n’ Dumplings

Leave a Reply

