Golden Manna’s Terrible Egg Custard Tart

Serious Eats listed Golden Manna Bakery as having the 2nd best egg custard tart (dan tat) in Chinatown. Having already tried the best (Bread Talk), I decided to try the rest. I should have been tipped off by the B health rating, but in Chinatown that translates to an A. Golden Manna is a franchise that has bakeries over Chinatown. I assumed they were something right.
Wrong.

The egg custard tarts were sitting outside with other items, in full reach of the flies buzzing around. I asked how fresh the tarts were out of the oven, and wasn’t surprised when I received no response. At 90 cents, these tarts are quite expensive for the neighborhood.

Before I could take a bite into it, I noticed there were flakes falling off the crust already. This was a good sign, so I carried on. As my teeth sunk in, I knew there was a problem. The custard was quite solid, resembling gelatin. To make things worse, it didn’t have any flavor at all. There wasn’t even a hint of sweetness. I began to question what exactly I was eating, and then noticed the contrast of color inside. The surface was a deep yellow while the inside had a pale color that was chunky and white. Regrettably, I had another bite, but that only convinced me to give up. There is no way that this is the 2nd best egg custard in Chinatown.

Golden Manna Bakery ★☆☆☆☆
16 Bowery St (between Doyers St & Chatham Sq)
New York, NY 10013
Neighborhoods: Chinatown

2 responses to “Golden Manna’s Terrible Egg Custard Tart

Leave a Reply

