Review site (Yelp) won’t tolerate criticism

Before EatLoveNY.com, I took my first baby steps into food reviewing on Yelp. It was an awkward foray into what would become a new hobby. Within about four months, I contributed over 100 reviews which were popular based on Yelp’s metrics. However, I was never comfortable with the community. Over 90% of their reviews are pathetic attempts at humour or personal stories having little to do with the food. This behavior, most prevalent among the Yelp Elites, eventually led me to start my own blog so I could isolate myself from the imbecility. For many weeks, my only use of Yelp was to submit partial reviews ending with a link to EatLoveNY.

Last night, I had a question that I posted onto Yelp Talk (the site’s internal forum). Despite receiving no replies to my inquiry, I was informed today that my account had been closed. I’m guessing I ticked someone off. I’ve recreated my question it as best I could…

Negative ROTD question
Has anyone ever seen a 1, 2, or even 3 star review as a Review of the Day? Whenever I check the home page, there’s (often) a poorly written review lauding a business. Is Yelp afraid to highlight criticism?
[Also, please stop WRITING LIKE THISS!! lol, OMFG YUMMY!]

(The last bit was a jab at the 90% of Yelpers whose writing has the sophistication of a Facebook status).

It’s embarrassing that the multi-million dollar behemoth review site would rather delete my account than answer a legitimate question, especially considering that I amassed over 180 reviews with them. You may have also noticed that  my reviews on EatLoveNY always begin with a link to Yelp. I’ve contacted them and am waiting for a response…

2 responses to “Review site (Yelp) won’t tolerate criticism

  • Mo Arafat

    It would be expected that from a website that accepts reviews from everyone you would get a range of reviews from “barely english” to “very articulate”, just as you have a wide range of people in the street. Such is the reality. It’s just a fact.

    But it is outrageous that they would ban you from their website, after you’ve donated such valuable content. It’s a shame, and their loss.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

