dora – a welcome addition to the neighborhood

I needed something caffeinated to complete my breakfast, which started at the Doughnut Plant. dora was right around the block, and I suspected it was new in town since I never heard of it til Serious Eats included them in a Best Coffee slideshow.

I asked the owner, Jamie Rogers, for whatever and received a latte. While he made it I asked him about the beautiful, aged tin ceiling as well as for the story behind the name of the cafe. We ended up talking and he was very friendly. He later offered me and my friend, Aaron, soufflé that his sister made for him.

Aaron and I stayed at dora for a while, enjoying the atmosphere, which appeared to be in a transitional stage. I later found out that Jamie bought the place a few weeks ago. He’s off to a great start. The latte was wonderful. It was soft and balanced, a perfect complement to my surprise dessert. I’d love to see dora grow and become a part of my neighborhood.

dora ★★★★★
221 E Broadway (between Clinton St & Montgomery St)
New York, NY 10002
Neighborhood: Lower East Side

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

